Continuing Education Requirements
Some states require their licensees to take specific CE courses at specific times. These are the GGS at-home text and streaming video courses that satisfy those requirements.
LMFTs, LCSWs, LEPs and LPCCs: 36 hours every 2 years, 18 hours for the first renewal period.
Interactive and Self Study. California therapists and social workers may earn 100% of their CE hours through self-study as well as electronic interactive courses. The California BBS says that, effective July 1, 2015, licensees may gain ALL of their required CE units through self-study (previously limited to one-half of the total hours), if the self-study course is offered by an acceptable CE provider such as Gerry Grossman Seminars. "Electronic" courses could already count for 100% before that time. All of our at-home courses are considered electronic when you submit the post-test through our website, while they are considered Self-Study if you send your post-test through the mail.
The California Board of Behavioral Sciences requires their therapists and counselors to take certain CE courses at specific times. The following grids list required subjects along with Gerry Grossman Seminars CE courses that can be applied to each one:
First Time Renewal CE Package: Gerry Grossman Seminars offers a low-priced suite of courses that will satisfy all MFT and LCSW first-renewal requirements. It includes Law and Ethics, Domestic Violence: Spousal and Partner Abuse, HIV/AIDS and Issues with Aging.
Registered Nurses: 30 contact hours every 2 years
Home Study. The California BRN website states that there is "no limit to the number of contact hours that can be completed through independent or home study courses."
MFTs and Social Workers: 30 hours every 2 years
Home Study. Texas MFTs may use distance learning courses such as ours for up to 6 hours each year. LMSWs, LCSWs and LBSWs can earn up to 10 hours per renewal period through independent study.
Licensed marriage and family therapists, licensed mental health counselors, and licensed social workers: 36 hours every 2 years
Washington law WAC 246-809-610 states: "The continuing education (CE) program or course must be relevant to licensed marriage and family therapists, licensed mental health counselors and licensed social workers and must contribute to the advancement, extension and enhancement of the professional competence of the licensed marriage and family therapist, licensed mental health counselor and/or licensed social worker. Courses or workshops primarily designed to increase practice income or office efficiency are not eligible for CE credit." Please check the Washington DOH website for more particulars.
Home Study. Washington counselors may use distance learning courses such as ours for up to 26 hours each reporting period.